Your gateway to the world of medicine
Cancer News
About Us
Health Professionals
Patients and public
Contact Us

What are the stages of pancreas cancer?
Pancreas cancer may be diagnosed in the early or later stages of the disease. Depending up on how extensive is the cancer, pancreatic cancer is usually stage I through IV.

  • Stage I: Pancreas cancer is said to be in stage I if the tumor is not extending beyond the limits of pancreas, and no lymph nodes are involved with cancer.
  • Stage II: Pancreas cancer is said to be in stage II if the tumor has spread locally beyond stage I or involved the lymph nodes but is still can be considered for surgery
  • Stage III: Pancreas cancer is said to be in stage III if the tumor has spread beyond stage II and is considered mostly inoperable
  • Stage IV: Pancreas cancer is said to be in stage IV if the tumor has spread from pancreas to distant organs like lungs, kidney or liver.

    Next Page Back to the main page  

Pancreatic cancer: Resources

Pancreatic cancer: Stages
What are the Stages of Pancreatic Cancer?   (
Where can pancreatic cancer spread to?   (Johns Hopkins Hospital)
How and why is pancreatic cancer staged?   (Johns Hopkins Hospital)
How is pancreatic cancer staged?   (National Institute of Health)
Staging   (CancerBacup)

Pancreatic cancer: Selected reading

100 Questions & Answers About Pancreatic Cancer
by Eileen O'Reilly, Joanne Frankel Kelvin
The Official Patient's Sourcebook on Pancreatic Cancer
by Icon Health Publications

Copyright statement
The contents of this web page are protected. Legal action may follow for reproduction of materials without permission.